# FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES Friday, January 28<sup>th</sup>, 2022, 1:00 P. M. – 2:00 P. M. VIA WEBEX



### FACULTY SENATORS IN ATTENDANCE

Robert Danforth, D.D.S.; WLHSDM

Huanyu Dou, M.D.; GSBS

Geoffrey D. Guttmann, Ph.D., Nominating Committee Chair; WLHSDM

Prashant Joshi, M.D., PLFSOM

Gloria Loera, D.N.P., R.N., NEA-BC; GGHSON

Richard. W. McCallum, M.D., Faculty Senate President-Elect; PLFSOM

Praveen Parachuru, Ph.D.; WLHSDM

Jaclyn Reyes, M.S.N., R.N., CNE, CMSRN; GGHSON

Jennifer Salinas, Ph.D.; GSBS

Clarissa Silva, Ph.D., R.N., Faculty Senate President; GGHSON

Anantha Ramana Vellipuram, M.D.; PLFSOM

Mingtao Zeng, Ph.D.; GSBS

### **Ex-Officio**

KoKo Aung, M.D., M.P.H., Vice President for Faculty Success, TTUHSC El Paso

#### **GUESTS**

Cindy Camarillo, Sr. Director, Office of Faculty Affairs

Desirae Favela, Associate Director, Faculty Recruitment, Office of Faculty Affairs

Edgar A. Corral, Unit Manager, Faculty Recruitment, Office of Faculty Affairs

### I. CALL TO ORDER

Clarissa Silva, Ph.D., R.N., Faculty Senate President

Dr. Silva called the meeting to order at 1:04 P. M., and welcomed all participants via WebEx.

#### II. REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Clarissa Silva, Ph.D., R.N., Faculty Senate President

Dr. Silva asked the Faculty Senate to review the previous meeting minutes for November 30<sup>th</sup>, 2021. Dr. Loera made a motion to approve the minutes, Dr. Guttmann seconded the motion, and the Faculty Senate voted unanimously to approve the minutes as presented.

## **III. OLD BUSINESS**

Clarissa Silva, Ph.D., R.N., Faculty Senate President

- a. PLFSOM Faculty Senate Special Election Results Prashant Joshi, M. D. Dr. Silva announced that Dr. Joshi was elected by the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine's Faculty Council to fill the Faculty Senate seat left vacant by Karinn M. Chambers, M.D. Dr. Joshi's term will end on October 31<sup>st</sup>, 2023.
- **b. Discussion of Senate President Terms** Dr. Silva opened the floor for discussion to revisit the Faculty Senate President term, as further discussion on this topic had been recommended at the November 2021 Faculty Senate Meeting. The discussion addressed whether the terms of office for the Faculty Senate President and President-Elect should be changed to 2 years instead of 1 year.

Dr. Loera asked how a 2-year President term would align with a 1-year President-Elect and 1-year Past President term. Dr. Silva clarified the proposal is to amend all President officer terms (President-Elect, President, and Immediate Past President) to a two (2) year commitment for each role. Dr. McCallum agreed with the suggestion as it would give more time to make an impact as the President. Dr. Silva stated she is in favor of the two (2) year president term of office, starting with Dr. McCallum's presidency, as Dr. Silva's term will end in August of 2022. Dr. Vellipuram noted the need to change the bylaws and asked if there are any discrepancies in the cycle if terms of office are modified. Dr. Joshi noted that unless all officer terms are changed to 2-years, then the officer transitions won't synch up and the total leadership commitment on the Faculty Senate would become a 6-year obligation. Dr. McCallum stated a 1-year term of office for the Past President might be adequate.

Dr. Guttmann expressed support for a two (2) year President term because it takes time to seat committees and get rolling. He noted the Past President is an honorary position and can be useful for institutional memory, so one year in this role may be adequate.

Dr. Guttmann made a motion to explore amendment of the Faculty Senate Bylaws for the President Elect, to give a five (5) year term of office, whereby the President elect will serve for two (2) years, President will serve for two (2) years, and Past President will serve for one (1) year. Dr. McCallum second the motion. Dr. Joshi raised a point of order to discuss the motion. Dr. Silva opened this for discussion.

Dr. Joshi stated this motion can only apply to future elections and cannot apply to past elections, without a separate change of bylaws. He questioned whether Dr. McCallum's term could retroactively be extended to serve a 2-year term, noting the term of office was 1-year at the time of his election as President-Elect. It may appear unseemly. This will need to be reviewed. Dr. Vellipuram also shares this concern. Dr. Joshi noted the bylaws committee would have to review the bylaws amendment procedure.

Dr. Joshi stated the motion should be amended to appoint an ad hoc committee to explore the change in bylaws. Dr. Zeng agreed with the change to the new motion to create an ad hoc committee to discuss and review the bylaws amendment. Dr. Silva called the motion to a vote and the motion was unanimously approved by the Faculty Senate. Dr. Silva stated the Ad Hoc committee, which will be tasked to review the Faculty Senate Bylaws, will be discussed at the next Executive Committee meeting.

- c. 2022 Standing Committee Membership Updates Dr. Guttmann presented the ex-officio committee members to be appointed as non-voting members to the following standing committees.
  - Diversity and Inclusion Committee
    - Mayra Morales, M.B.A., Senior Director, Office of Diversity Affairs and Inclusion, Office of Diversity, Inclusion, & Global Health, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso
  - Faculty Resources Committee
    - KoKo Aung, M.D., M.H.P., Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Paul L. Foster School of Medicine, Texas Tech University Health Centers El Paso
  - Research Affairs Committee
    - **Deborah Clegg, Ph. D.,** Vice President for Research, and Assistant Professor, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso.
  - University Affairs Committee
    - Lisa Beinhoff, Ph. D., MLS, AHIP, Managing Director, Delia Montes-Gallo Library of Health Sciences, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso
    - Rosa Valenzuela, Associate Managing Director for IT Cyber-security, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso

**Call for Nominations:** Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences- Dr. Guttmann presented two (2) new Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences nominees for appointment to vacant seats on the following standing committees:

## **Diversity and Inclusion Committee**

Jennifer Salinas, Ph. D.; GSBS

# **University Affairs Committee**

Huanyu Dou, M.D.; GSBS

Dr. Silva called for a vote of approval for the appointment of Dr. Salinas and Dr. Dou. Motion was unanimously approved by the Faculty Senate.

## **IV. NEW BUSINESS**

# Clarissa Silva, Ph.D., R.N., Faculty Senate President

Faculty Senate Strategic Plan Presentation – Dr. Silva reported the Executive Committee met on Saturday, January 22 2022, with support from Ms. Camarillo, to develop the Faculty Senate Strategic Plan for 2022. Dr. Silva used the mission of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso and the mission of the Faculty Senate to develop the Faculty Senate Strategic Plan Presentation. Dr. Silva also referenced the Values-Based Culture to identify Faculty Senate goals for the year and goals for each Standing Committee. A copy of the goals will be given to each of the Faculty Senate Standing Committees. This PowerPoint presentation can be found embedded below.



## **VI. ROUND TABLE DISCUSSION**

# **Open Discussion**

**a.** Dr. Silva tabled the Round Table Discussion due to time constraints. Next meeting is scheduled for February 2022, with a date and time to be determined based on Faculty Senator availability.

## **VII. ADJOURNMENT**

# Clarissa Silva, Ph. D., R.N., Faculty Senate President

Dr. Silva asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. A motion to adjourn was made by Dr. Guttmann and seconded by Dr. McCallum. Meeting adjourned at 2:04 P.M.

Minutes Approved:

Signature: Clavissa Silva (Mar 1, 2022 11:35 MST)

Email: clarissa.silva@ttuhsc.edu

Clarissa Silva, Ph.D., R.N.

Faculty Senate President 2022 - 2023